when it’s ok to hide

our lives in Christ began with a death. a death to ourselves, to our sin natures. what follows is a new life in Christ. as with many spiritual things, it turns what is known to us as “natural” on its head. we begin our mortal lives with birth, and end in death; but life in Christ begins with death, and a new life follows.

For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” colossians 3:3, nasb

our lives are then to be hidden in His. there should be no trace of ourselves. everything about us should point to Him.

“When Christ, who is our life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory.” colossians 3:4, nasb.

there is nothing to fear in His life. there is nothing to lose. those earthly desires we once had are dead to us. there are so many possibilities to open yourself up to when you think on this and what it means. my heart and mind have been opened.  it has become so much less about me as i see God pouring out His love through people, and  it all comes at a time when i’m near ready to give up on everyone…so many hearts have gone cold. when i look beyond my own life, and see the darkness and evil so thick in the lives of others, i find myself ready to just go home. but then God reveals Himself through the kindness of another or from the sincerity of a heart or in the tears of one who has found hope for their lives. there is still so much beauty here.

and then there’s me. i am my worst critic, and it is my own failures that weigh heaviest on the scales…they bear more weight than any disappointment i may have in the state of things around me. but He knows how to get my attention. and even though i haven’t been listening as strongly as i used to, He has – once again – found a way to break through. i can’t understand why, but He has gone to great lengths to remind me of Who He is. i would’ve given up on me a long time ago.

sara

Lord, i’m listening.

4 thoughts on “when it’s ok to hide

  1. I love this line, Sara: “we begin our mortal lives with birth, and end in death; but life in Christ begins with death, and a new life follows.”

    I am reading the book, Humility, by Andrew Murray. It talks about this specifically. I think you would find it interesting.

    When we think all hope is gone, God shines down on us again in the smallest of ways to remind us that He is still alive and that we are ever on His mind.

    Blessings,
    Daphne

  2. I AM TAKING CARE OF YOU. Feel the warmth and security of being enveloped in My loving Presence. Every detail of your life is under My control. Moreover, everything fits into a pattern for good, to this who love Me and are called to My design and purpose.

    Because the world is an abnormal, fallen condition, people tend to think that chance governs the universe. Events may seem to occur randomly, with little or no meaning. People who view the world this way have overlooked one basic fact: the limitations of human understanding. What you know of the world you inhabit is only the tip of the iceberg . Submerged beneath the surface of the visible world are mysteries too vast for you to comprehend. If you could only see how close I am to you and how constantly I work on your behalf, you would never again doubt that I am wonderfully caring for you. This is why you must live by faith, not by sight; trusting in My mysterious, majestic Presence.
    Romans 8:28 (AMP); Job 42:1-3; 1 Peter 5:7; 2 Corinthians5:7

    Today’s 12/12/12 Jesus Calling

Leave a Reply

